Great Turnout for first ’21 MCTSA Shoot

It’s a wonderful feeling being able to open our doors again after six weeks of enforced abstinence, and today’s Single Barrel DTL Championship saw 21 competitors back on the range at Meary Veg in perfect Spring sunshine for the first MCSA event of the year.

100 DTL Single Barrel Manx Championship

The first competitive shooting at Meary Veg after lockdown was the IOM Single Barrel DTL Championship sponsored by Sadler Agricultural Supplies.

A healthy 21 competitors took to the stands in near ideal conditions. We had joint leaders after the first rounds with Phil Ward and Mark Riley both hitting 24’s, Steven Craine was in third place on 23 with James Bradley next on 22 followed by four shooters on 21.

Phil Ward upped the pace in the second round round scoring a perfect 25 straight for a running total of 49, Mark Riley was in second place four behind on 45 with John Moore and Mike Walker next on 43 followed by Steven Craine and junior Arran Wade in equal fifth place on 42.

Ward was still in the lead on 71 after round three but his lead had been cut to two points with Riley still in second place on 69 with junior Arran Wade now third on 64, followed by John Moore in fourth place on 63 with Steven Craine in fifth place on 62. Making up the top six was Mike Walker on 61.

After the fourth and final round Steven Craine was sixth with 82 but we had a three way tie for third between John Moore, Alan Wade and his son Arran all on 83. In the shoot off Arran took third place with a 22 beating his dad by two points on 20, finishing fourth and with John Moore in fifth. Arran also took the junior prize which was sponsored by Field and Range with his 83, followed by Joe Faragher in second place on 69. Mark Riley finished in second place hitting 24 in his last round to finish on 93 but there was no stopping Phil Ward who hit yet another straight to take the Single Barrel championship with a fine score of 96 – well shot Phil!

Next week is a 100 Sport Trap selection shoot on the Sunday with the first round of the Colin Bowen Memorial English skeet league on Bank Holiday Monday, entries for both close at 10am.


High Gun

  1. P Ward (96)
  2. M Riley (93)
  3. Arr Wade (J) (83)


  1. Arr Wade (J) (83)
  2. J Faragher (J) (69)
Single Barrel Champions: M Riley, P Ward, Arr Wade (J), J Faragher (J)