Riley Bags Post-Christmas Cup

2022 Club Boxing Day Shoot

The IOM Clay Pigeon Shooting Club’s annual Christmas Shoot and kindly sponsored once again by Top Spec Fencing was held at Meary Veg Santon in dull and very windy conditions but the rain stopped once shooting commenced.

The leader after the first round was C class shooter Michael Cross on 66 points with Steven Craine in second place on 63 points followed by Mark Riley, Mike Walker, Stan Skinner and C class shooter Brian Kelly in equal third  place on 60 points.

While the main shooters had a break the non-members took to the stands competing for the Phil Yewdell cup, and the winner was Chris McCabe with 48 points with junior Tom Moore in second place on 39 followed by Malcolm Darcy in third place on 36. We then had another junior in Lucy Faragher in fourth place on 33 with Ash Lewis and junior Percy Hampton next on 27 followed by Julie Faragher and Sarah Cubbon on 18 and in ninth place on 9 points was Sarah Faragher.

The second round of the main event got under way with the wind even stronger making the targets duck and dive more. In C class Wayne Barsby finished in fourth place on 69 with Mark Hepworth taking third place on 81, in second place on 117 was Brian Kelly but taking C class with 123 points was Michael Cross.

In B class Calum Craine was fifth on 96 with Giulio Fabrizio forth on 99, in third place on 102 was Mark Barnett, Stan Cross took second place on 108 but top of the B class with 114 points was Rob Corlett. In A Class we had a three way tie for fourth place with Alan Wade, John Moore and Stan Skinner all scoring 108 points, in third place on 111 was junior Arran Wade, we also had a tie for first place in A class between Steven Craine and Mike Walker on 123 but the Highgun on the day was Mark Riley with 129 points – well done Mark!

In the handicap section the winner was Brian Kelly with a total of 169 points in second place on 166 was Michael Cross with Steven Craine in third place on 133.


High Gun

  • M Riley (60, 69 = 129)

Handicap Cup

  1. B Kelly (117, 152 = 169)
  2. M Cross (123, 43 = 166)
  3. S Craine (123, 10 = 133)

Class A

  1. M Walker (60, 63 = 123)
  2. S Craine (63, 60 = 123)
  3. A Wade (J) (57, 54 = 111)

Class B

  1. R Corlett (51, 63 = 114)
  2. S Cross (48, 60 = 108)
  3. M Barnett (45, 57 = 102)

Class C

  1. M Cross (66, 57 = 123)
  2. B Kelly (60, 57 = 117)
  3. M Hepworth (39, 42 = 81)
2022 Boxing Day at The Crosby

The next competition on the range is on Sunday 8th January which is the third round of the Utopia Winter Series English Skeet League. Reminder to all members that memberships are now due. Duty officers on Saturday 7th January are S & M Cross.