Cross Wins Annand Cup

Winter 2023 Pro Sporting – Round One

The first round of the Winter Series Pro Sporting league kindly sponsored by Stan Cross was held at Meary Veg Santon with 21 competitors taking part in very wet and dull conditions but with the investment in shelters by the club over the past couple of years all the shooters stayed dry throughout the competition. The Victor Annand Referees and range officials cup was also up for grabs.

The leader after the first round were Michael Cross and Paul Mihailovits who both scored 22, in equal third place on 20 was Stan Cross with Rob Corlett and Liam Kirkpatrick next on 19.

Will Rand & Brian Faragher

Victor Annand Cup

Dedicated to safety officers and other range officials, the Victor Annand cup is presented annually in December to the highest scoring member of the Meary Veg team during the season’s first sporting shoot.

Setting targets and maintaining traps in all weather isn’t always easy work, and this cup honours those individuals who give up their time in order to keep the targets flying.

– Mark

After a short break the second round got under way and in C class Mike Whitehead finished in third place with 17 points with Irene Stockil taking second place with 20 points but winning C class with 24 points was Sue Doyle. We had a tie for third place in B class between Liam Kirkpatrick and Ben Stembridge on 32 points, in second place on 36 points was Brian Faragher with Stan Cross taking first place with 37 points. We had a three way tie for third place in A class between Rob Corlett, Will Rand and Mark Barnett on 34 points, in second place on 36 points was Paul Mihailovits but top of the class and also winning the Victor Annand cup was Michael Cross with 42 points, who was the only shooter to have two scores in the twenties, well done Michael!


Class A

  1. M Cross (42)
  2. P Mihailovits (36)
  3. R Corlett (34)
  4. W Rand (34)
  5. M Barnett (34)

Class B

  1. S Cross (37)
  2. B Faragher (36)
  3. L Kirkpatrick (32)
  4. B Stembridge (32)

Class C

  1. S Doyle (L)(24)
  2. I Stockil (L)(20)
  3. M Whitehead (17)
P Mihailovits, L Kirkpatrick, M Cross, B Faragher, W Rand, S Cross, R Corlett, B Stembridge